A Name

This past Sunday my husband and I had the pleasure to dedicate our only daughter and youngest child, Amanda Joy. We stood before our church, family, and God and committed to teach and model a Christ centered life for our daughter. To teach her that God made her, God loves her, and He wants to be her forever friend.  To tell her how He sent his son Jesus, who lived a sinless life and died on a cross for all her sins so that one day she could know Him. So she could put her life in his hands and be transformed. So she could live a life that honors and glorifies God. To show her what this kind of life looks like on a daily basis in our lives.

As I stood there before everyone and held my precious baby girl and listened as the pastor told everyone her name means virtuous and then prayed for her I remembered the story behind her name…

Psalm 139:13-16

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
16 You saw me before I was born.

The day I found out I was pregnant with her I was elated. I was literally jumping up and down and called my mom. Tim and I were about to leave for a trip to NYC but I had to tell her and all my siblings…I was so excited! I had been longing for a third child and now I was pregnant. A few weeks later I was alone at home and cleaning the upstairs of our apartment. Basically running around like a chicken with my head cut off cleaning and thinking. As I was thinking about this tiny little baby being made in my womb I silently said, “Lord, please help us with a name.” I took two steps and heard in my head AMANDA JOY. I stopped and looked around…no one was there. I thought God is that you. I heard nothing but silence and just stood there with my mouth hanging open wondering. No way. I was so flustered. I was like it couldn’t have been…but then again maybe. So I laughed and prayed, “Okay God, if it’s you and it’s a girl then I’ll name her Amanda Joy. ( I had two boys and seriously doubted it would be a girl.)

I kept this a secret and kind of forgot about it until the day of the sonogram. I was in the room looking at all the wonderful things on the screen when the tech and doctor confirmed it was a girl! I was so excited and stunned. It’s a girl!!!!! Then I remembered…and was in awe.

I considered other names and still the Holy Spirit kept telling me that I already had a name. So I sat down and talked it over with Tim and her name became Amanda Joy Baesen.

As we were dedicating my little Amanda Joy I just said in my heart…God she is yours and has been from the start. I can’t wait and see what her little life is going to look like and I can’t wait to tell her how much You love her and that you have been pursuing her since before she was born!

Today as I write this I am reminded how much God loves me and you. He has known us since before we were born. He made us. He loves us. He died for us. He pursues us. How amazing is God’s love?!

Leave a Reply

