Seeking Strength

You know you are having a rough day when you have had two cups of coffee and still feel drained.

The other day I was at the end of my rope by 10:00am. My oldest was at school and my other two were full of energy running around being kids. My hubby was sleeping because he works nights. All around me I just saw toys everywhere, dirty dishes, and lots of stuff that needed to get done. I had already had two cups of coffee and nothing was helping. I felt exhausted mentally and physically. It got to the point where I had no one to call and I felt like there was no way I was going to get through the day. I just couldn’t do it.

What do you do when you just can’t do it and it’s only 10am??

I suddenly realized I needed God. I couldn’t do this day on my own strength…I was on EMPTY. I thought, “Where do I go?” My kids are all over the kitchen/dining room/ living area of our home and my hubby is in the bedroom. So where can I go.” Suddenly I knew….the potty (as we call it in my house). It was the only place my kids know not to come in unless it’s really an emergency. I occupied the kids with stuff, grabbed my Bible and headed straight there. I shut the door and sat on the floor.

Where do I turn in the Bible? I felt like I should start in Philippians so I started reading. I was reading and praying. I felt like a “dying man in the desert searching for water.”  I needed God.

I read straight through Philippians and started Colossians when it hit me. Colossians 1:27b (NLT) “And this is the secret: Christ lives in you. This gives you assurance of sharing his glory. ”    As soon as I read it I felt freedom and peace. I smiled as God spoke truth into my soul. He was telling me that HE is in ME. Not just with me, but in me. Because I have accepted Jesus as my Savior and surrendered all that I am for All that HE IS. The book of Acts says that I have the Spirit living in me. The Father, Son and Spirit are all one so I have God in me. He is working in me and through me for His glory. God wanted me to know that He is not just with me, but in me so He can give me the inner strength and peace I need to get through the day!!!! No one else can do that, but God!!

I closed my Bible thanking God. It was like my heavenly father just wrapped his arms around me and told me that it’s ok because He is in me and going to give me the strength when I have none. I came out of my “hiding spot” feeling like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders and I felt strength and peace in my soul.

I didn’t just make it through the day, but I was able to be the best mommy I could be that day.  I encourage you to talk with God and get into His word today. If you don’t know where to start then start in 1 John and let Him love you today. If you don’t know God as your personal savior, but would like more information check out this link :

http://www.thisisthegospel.com/#/the-gospel/the-gospel-message

Leave a Reply

