I’m not a writer…or am I

“What do you do?”

“I am a former teacher turned stay at home mom.”

I love it when I get to tell people what I do! I taught middle school English for five years. I moved to Las Vegas six weeks after I was married to teach. Teaching was an adventure that I will always treasure. Now I am enjoying the ups and downs of being a stay at home mom. However, never did I think I was a writer.

Yesterday I decided to participate in Jeff Goins 15 Habits of Great Writer’s challenge. You see seven months ago I started a blog. I wrote several times a week at first and now not so often. I started the blog because I had something to share about my journey of faith, my mommy days, my book reviews, and my weight loss journey. I thought the challenge would give me a good kick in the pants with my writing. Oh, did it ever! Day 1 was to DECLARE yourself a writer.

Haha….I am not a writer. I have never published. I don’t enjoy it like some I know. I did not major in journalism and avoided creative writing classes. I am definitely not a writer. In fact, the reason my blog posts have dwindled is because I don’t know what to write about and if I do get an idea….I don’t have the words. How could I be a writer?

But I am.

I wrote my first fictional story when I was in fourth grade. When I went through tough times as a teen I would write poetry. I was a writing tutor in college. I write my prayers in a journal. I blog. Guess what?

I am a writer. (I just didn’t ever think about it and I don’t spend much time doing it.)

Come join me as I blog through this writing challenge for the next 15 days!

~ Kelly

3 thoughts on “I’m not a writer…or am I

  1. It’s interesting to look at ourselves from perspectives that we never would have considered at other times in our lives. God can enable us to do anything as long as we are willing to be the clay in His hand. He will give you all that you need to do it! And He already has…

  2. Hi, Kelly — I’m glad I found your blog. Your words here are familiar ones for me. I recently restarted my writing life (after raising my son) and found it hard to say “I’m a writer” to people who asked. I like how you looked back over your life and found your answer. I did the same, and now I’m working towards my goal of publishing my work one fine day. I hope you reach your writing goals, too.

Leave a Reply

