Chisel Me

Psalm 27:7  My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.” (NLV)

So many days I get up and go about my day. I get the kids off to school, take care of my little girl at home, get lunch made, put girly down for a nap, get the boys from the bus, make dinner, clean up, etc.  I do my day on my own strength.

At the end of the day I try to sit down with my Bible to spend time with Him, but end up rocking a kid who won’t go to bed, fighting with the other two to get them in bed, and then plopping down in front of the computer or the TV exhausted. Then of course it is too late and I feel guilty. I label myself a failure and I tell myself that tomorrow will be different. I lay in bed and feel defeated. I love God and truly want to spend time with Him, but day after day I don’t.

Recently God has been making it apparent that this needs to change because I can’t do it on my own strength. On my own I become impatient with my kids, am crabby with my husband, drink tons of coffee to try to make it better and always feel like I’m on an emotional roller coaster. I need Him, but I keep thinking I can do it myself. Can you relate?

In Unglued Lysa writes, “God is chiseling us, making us new, releasing us from our hard places—those places that make us feel so stinkin’ defeated, so we can do good works.”

After reading this passage, I was reminded that God can’t chisel me or make me new  if I don’t spend time each day with Him. If I didn’t change something I would stay stuck instead of being “released from my hard places”. I don’t know about you, but I wanted to have more victory over my emotions each day. I knew my harsh words and attitude with my family needed to be fixed. So I decided to start getting up early in the morning to spend time with God.

I wish I could tell you it has been easy and smooth sailing, but it hasn’t. I am not a morning person at all! But each morning that I have been successful at getting up and getting into the Bible reading, listening, and praying I have had victory!

As I spend time with God before the day even gets started He fills me up with His strength, joy, and ability to manage my emotions. During the day I am reminded that I don’t have to react out of my own strength, but depend on Him for strength. When my kids start wearing me out I remember what God has been teaching me and I cry out to Him when I need help.

As a result my family hasn’t had a perfect mom/wife, but they have been experiencing a mom/wife that God is making more like Him. He is chiseling away my impatience, selfishness, stubbornness, and anger over little things and is replacing them with patience, dependence on Him, gentleness, kind words, and love.

He is the only one who can transform our lives!

Lord God Chisel me. Take my hard places and make them new. When I am too busy help me to hear your voice calling to me.  I lay myself before you and ask you to change me more into Jesus. In Jesus Name, Amen.

One thought on “Chisel Me

Leave a Reply

