Thankful for Freedom

My heart wells up with overwhelming thankfulness that I can vote.

I live in a country that allows me the chance to choose. A chance to let my voice be heard.

People have fought and died for my right to vote. Life is precious. Tonight I remember those who have given of themselves so that I can have freedom.

Freedom to read, write, vote, live where I choose, marry who I choose, believe what I choose, and on and on it goes.

I am blessed today by this freedom to do so much.

My heart aches for those who have lost a loved one, but it also wells up with thankfulness for those loved ones willing to serve. They believed in our rights so they served. Thank you.

My heart wells up with overwhelming thankfulness that I have true freedom without fear because I am a daughter of the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords. Through faith and trust in Jesus I have laid down my life. I no  longer live, but Christ lives in and through me….that is true freedom.

Thank you Lord for the chance to vote today. For daily freedoms I don’t even think about. Thank you that I was able to read the ballot, I was able to write my name, and  I was able to vote without fear. Thank you that no matter what happens in our country tomorrow that I am a part of your kingdom first. You are where I place my trust O God. Thank you for the true freedom for my soul that I find in intimacy with you. You are the ultimate King. Thank you for reigning over our country tonight. My freedom is found in You.

 

One thought on “Thankful for Freedom

Leave a Reply

