Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

Five Minute Friday already! As usual this is not Friday by the time I post, but I love to just write on each of Lisa-Jo Baker’s topics. I am giddy as I check her blog for the next topic! So here it goes!

Ordinary

My days seem so ordinary. I live a simple life, an ordinary life. I get breakfast, say goodbye, play puzzles, watch Elmo, clean a house, make lunch, play some more, get kids, go over schoolwork, cook dinner, do dishes, give baths, read stories, sing goodnight and use every moment I have to show them and tell them how much Jesus loves them. Those are my ordinary days… the days that seem so long and never-ending.

But what happens when the ordinary things are stripped away. I got sick and suddenly the ordinary mundane things were impossible. I couldn’t cook dinner or take care of my kids. I couldn’t play with my daughter or get the boys off the bus. In those moments I see how each moment of my life is not ordinary. It is extraordinary.

The inability to participate in the ordinary mundane things my life made me see and realize the blessings of the ordinary. Now I hold in my heart a deep love of all things ordinary. Like the way my daughter holds my neck when she hugs, or the light in my husband’s eye when he smiles, or the laughter of two boys playing Transformers, the little prayers by sweet sensitive kids, and the questions they are burning to ask…those are things of beauty I now cherish each day.

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

  1. So true! I want to have a positive attitude about those ordinary mundane chores too because they are a gift of love to my family. You are an extraordinary Mom!
    Donna

Leave a Reply

