After the Death of a Dream (Five Minute Friday)

SAM_1042

Come join me! Each week I link up with Lisa Jo Baker and lots of other bloggers to write for five minutes on a given word. No perfecting, just the love of words on the page. Ready. Set. Go.

Go

After we moved into our “vintage trailer” I was angry. I didn’t want to live in this tiny 1970’s trailer in the middle of cow country.

I wanted more. I wanted a real house. I wanted the dream in my head of the little suburban home with a deck and backyard.

I was really mad at my new home…even if it was a good financially, a safer neighborhood, and better schools.

I felt my dream of a home was dead.

Sometimes the death of a dream is a good thing, because it makes room for God’s dreams. Months later God started teaching me lessons through my “vintage trailer”.

I learned how blessed I am to have this little home. Because so many in the world have so much less. He started changing my worldview and showing me what He sees. I am so richly blessed.

He also started deepening my dependence on Him for everything. He started showing me the depths of true surrender of our plans and dreams for His. During this process I questioned…Is God’s plan really better?

Then I learned that His plans are never our plans and they are always better. I had to change my perspective of “better”. Better to glorify Him.

Since living in our “vintage trailer” we have grown as a family, my hubby has grown spiritually, I have grown closer to God and we have had opportunities to love on and minister to people.

After the death of a dream came better dreams…His dreams to use us for His glory.

Stop

5 thoughts on “After the Death of a Dream (Five Minute Friday)

  1. I truly just teared up reading this. It was as though the Lord had you write it just for a reminder to me! We are currently in an apartment looking to get into a house and it has been a roller coaster to say the least. I just surrendered this to the Lord yesterday and then today really let go and then I read this. Wow! Excited to see what our future holds even though one dream (a certain house I loved) is not for us.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. My life, echoed in your words, I swear. Boy, He has a real way of shaking things up, doesn’t He? We moved across country, left our home, our church, our friends… and there were (are??) days that I wonder why I should be so alone, why I can’t be there, why I can’t have that life… But daily, I know the answers to those questions. This was an answered prayer, it was just answered in a way that I could not see, until the after, of course.

  3. LOVE this. Such true words and so beautifully written.
    I think my favorite paragraph was: Then I learned that His plans are never our plans and they are always better. I had to change my perspective of “better”. Better to glorify Him.
    Fabulous job, Kelly; thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

