Presently Choosing Joy

Waking up walking into walls. Dragging my body around my house. Barely getting through each day. Needing help with my kids. Unpredictable symptoms come and go without warning. My body is against me. It is frustrating, upsetting, and hard. Waiting to see doctors to figure it out and praying for answers.

As a Christian, how do I live through difficult circumstances with joy?

I choose it!

Each day I get up and remember I am a daughter of the King. He knows my body and exactly what is going on with me. He has gone before me and He follows me…He never leaves me. He gives me the strength to make it. He blesses me with help in a time of need. He has set me free even in this.

Grace even in times that make me want to give up. He is there offering me joy!

Joy in another day to love Him, love my kids, love my husband. Joy in making meals when I can. Joy in laundry, sweeping, and scrubbing. Joy in walking, playing, and living each day. Joy in being a mommy, wife, sister and friend. Joy in it all!

So when my brain starts getting foggy, my balance is off, and my body is overcome with fatigue I think of all the reasons He has blessed me in the present and I smile through the limitations, frustrations, and tears to remember I can choose His joy through it all! Joy that I have Him. That there is always victory in Jesus and He is everything.

Today I choose joy that only comes from Jesus! Freedom in the One who has set me free. Living in the promised land and not in chains no matter what circumstances are trying to tie me down.

Presently choosing joy…today that’s me!

Join me in linking up with Lisa Jo Baker in writing imperfectly for the fun of it! Only five minutes on the word present!

11 thoughts on “Presently Choosing Joy

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I am not ill, but often have difficulty choosing to feel joy in my life. What you have written is a wonderful reminder that it is I – not my circumstances or the actions of others around me – that determine whether or not I am happy with my life. And that every day that I am alive is a blessing!

    1. 😦 So sorry to hear you are sick too….but isn’t great to know that others out there are dealing with the same thing!! I love it when I meet someone that has walked or is walking the same road. I’ll be praying for you this week! πŸ™‚

  2. Sometimes choosing joy comes down to a choice. When we chose it we are blessed and we bless those around us. How wonderful His joy is available to us!

  3. Visiting from the FMF gang as well as the (in)couraging writers group. It was so interesting to read this post – I wound up writing similar thoughts on the prompt as well. Boy, did I struggle with putting that out there. I especially love this > He knows my body and exactly what is going on with me. He has gone before me and He follows me…He never leaves me. He gives me the strength to make it. He blesses me with help in a time of need. He has set me free even in this. < Such goodness there, and I'm grateful for His strength and grace. Blessing you and praying for you as we share joy!

    1. Hey Rebekah! I just read your piece…I am glad you put it out there!! So glad to hear your voice through your words and see others dealing with similar things. πŸ™‚ Praying for you and grateful for our words tonight. Thanks for stopping by and for hitting publish on your post!

Leave a Reply

