When you let your words fall out

“Writing is like wrapping yourself up in words and giving yourself away.” Lisa Jo Baker wrote this on her website just a few days ago and it hit me right in the gut. It is like giving yourself away…which is why I don’t do it.

Writing is scary. What ifs come into your mind. What if people don’t like it? What if I’m really not good? What  if there was an American Idol contest for writers.. would Simon be telling me how horrible I am? What if I try to write a book and can’t? What if it’s not good? What if I never publish? What if no one ever reads it?  What if ….it kills…it stops you in your tracks and paralyzes you from writing.

Last week I heard a song by Sara Bareilles titled Brave. It is my anthem right now as I fight the inner pull to just go sit in front of the TV and relax after the kids are in bed sleeping. It is the song in my head when the what ifs come. It is what my heart really wants to do – be brave!  Let the words be your anthem today as you fight the what ifs that paralyze you from moving forward.

This post is a link-up with Lisa Jo Baker and the Five Minute Friday bloggers! Join us by writing unedited on the word write! You’ll love it!

2 thoughts on “When you let your words fall out

  1. I’ve been writing for over 5 years now, and have all of these thoughts still. I love Sara’s song. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

